PDA

View Full Version : Chassis

Alzax3
01-08-2007, 05:57 PM
Just took my Corsa in for its MOT - PASSED :D :D :D (didn't require me to spend a fortnight under it welding it all back together like the Fiesta Courier RUSTBUCKET)

Talked to the very helpful inspector bloke about Nova chassis problems (someone near here has one where the whole floorpan, including 3" drops is held together entirely with pop rivets, not a weld in sight.) His take on that was that so long as there were no seat belt mounts in the affected region, depending on the quality of the construction, there might be no MOT problem. That goes against all the 'must be continuous bead welded' theory that I've always heard. Anyone else come across this? If he's right, it's going to save me doing a lot of welding for someone........

Peter
01-08-2007, 06:03 PM
That is his very generous take on it, the book says continuos weld or spot weld.

Ben
05-08-2007, 10:27 PM
Hi all

I am a approved Vosa inspector for HGV's.

A pop rivet is a no go for me as made from alu they do weaken with age.

Ben

adrenaline
25-03-2008, 07:10 PM
but the floor pans on a nova aren't structural like a cill on an ordinary car might be.....??

Alzax3
25-03-2008, 07:19 PM
No they aren't, (though they are probably supporting your seats, and if they give up the outer edge of the pan is supported by habbit rather than structure) but that doesn't stop the MOT man from covering himself by demanding continuous welds. You might find one who doesn't but I don't see the point in risking it.

Ben
25-03-2008, 11:22 PM
Hi all

We have to live with blame culture and MOT man covers his back. But they will let you get away with a lot if you can simply explain an MOT repair to the chassis.

Ben

jimcub
26-03-2008, 12:37 AM
If the pans were carpeted and stuck down, how would he see what the fixing method was. I have seen some very untidy pop rivets, so would not want to be a Fred Flintstone at 50mph.
It's always a weld for me, continuous at that.