PDA

View Full Version : Engine won't start up

jim73vw
27-03-2008, 10:45 PM
Hi all,

As you have probably all seen from my posts in the electrical section and fuel section Nena currently ressembles a large paperweight - looks pretty, but doesn't move.

For whatever reason the engine will not fire up.

Turns over on the key, ignition lights all come on, oil and fuel in the right places but no magical purr of the flat four.

Everthing has run before, and the car has moved under its own steam. only changes since the last run are the engine has been out and in once through the respray and the exhaust has been cut and welded (tail pipe angles changed)

I am no engine expert, despite having had various vws over the years, and am struggling on where to start. Following my posts re the fuel pipes I have turned the engine over with the fuel line to the carb disconnected - this is delivering fuel.

I have changed the coil for a new unit as I know I left the ignition on for a day during refiitng and feared I had burnt it out - this has made no difference. I haven't changed the condenser - would a faulty one stop the car starting altogether?

I have a positive feed to the coil (terminal 15) - can I test that it is outputting to the dizzy?

Any thoughts/hints gratefully received

letterman7
27-03-2008, 11:10 PM
Pretty basic Jim, start simple. Engines need gas, air and spark. You've determined you are receiving gas, I can't imagine it's not getting air, so only spark is left. Pull the plug leads off the plugs (one at a time), put a spare plug in that lead, and have someone turn the engine over while you hold the lead with insulated pliers to the block somewhere. If the coil and condensor are working, you should have a nice fat spark. Weak spark - you'll be able to tell, it looks like a small static shock spark - won't fire the engine.
If you have a good spark on all cylinders, try changing the plugs. Once they foul with gas, it's over. You'll need new ones.

Keep us posted!

Kym