PDA

View Full Version : I have been dumped on

Ben
13-06-2008, 09:40 PM
Hi all

My brother and girlfriend gave me there Citroen Saxo VTS at 6:00 PM today. It is booked in for MOT at 10:30 Saturday (tomorrow). The power steering not working, rear hand brake sub-standard, some play in the front wheels not in + but x just on one plane of x I have never worked on a Citroen before. I did get the steering on line by jumping a fuse I think an ignition problem because the heater blower don't work speedo and fuel gage. I will fit new rear brake pads tomorrow morning wish me luck.

Ben

Alzax3
14-06-2008, 07:56 AM
Good luck Ben!

Just so you know you're in good company, I noticed I'd got a noisy rear bearing on the Corsa yesterday, having bought a replacement I took the drum off to find that not only was the bearing on the way out but that the drum was cracked, (so shoes U/S as well) the other side bearing wasn't brilliant AND both the wheel cylinders wouldn't yeild their bleed nipples.......(sheared off :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: ) Why do simple little jobs end up as major rebuilds? :confused1:

bobbybrown
14-06-2008, 08:03 AM
Your also in good company, I spent the weekend doing a clutch on a rover 220 diesel, and yesterday doing a head gasket on a peugeot 106.
Looks like I've got to d a clutch on a renault savanna next week some time too! Oh the joy :laugh:

ant
14-06-2008, 05:03 PM
Im rebuilding a nova and its hell on legs!!!!!

Ant

Monkeyboy
14-06-2008, 05:50 PM
And I'm working on my boat, fibreglass this weekend, what fun.

Alzax3
14-06-2008, 07:36 PM
Dear Vauxhall

What made you choose to produce wheel cylinders in aluminium? When the bleed nipple seizes, you can't heat it up as it melts the aluminium, and if you soak it in WD40 for ages and then lean on it with a suitable tool it breaks off just above the threads :cursing: .....

Thankfully the aftermarket replacements are galvanised ferrous castings, so they should see the car out! :D

Ben
14-06-2008, 10:51 PM