PDA

View Full Version : Flat spot

Nigelf
15-10-2008, 04:29 PM
I'm running a 1300 "AB" engine in Omie with a 009 dizzy: there's a huge flat spot and she bogs down badly when pulling away. I have to pump the accelerator a couple of times at junctions to pull away and even then it's a crawl for a few seconds. Once up to speed there's no problem (although sometimes she cuts out as I'm coming to a halt). Is this the dreaded 009 flat spot that I've read about or should I start looking elsewhere?

I pulled the plugs and they're a lovely tan colour and I've adjusted the automatic choke. Anyone got any ideas where I should look next?

Big Birds Car
15-10-2008, 05:03 PM
I have no knowledge of aircool'ds but in general I would look at timing first and possibly the carb, however you say that the accelerator pump is working on the carb so it points me more to the timing/distributor. (just check that the accelerator pump is pumping fuel in when the throttle is pressed, do this with the air filter off and the engine switched off then just operate the carb linkage and see if petrol is pumped in).
Other than that I can't suggest anything else.

Nigelf
15-10-2008, 06:48 PM
Thanks BBC.

This is more for the aircooled types:The dizzy has this number on it 0231178009. I checked on the oldvolkshome site and there it's shown as a being for "VW High Performance Applications". Does that mean it's not the right one for my engine?

NovaNigel
15-10-2008, 08:53 PM
Nigelf

I have been running 009 distributors on VW engines for many years and have never experienced a flat spot as you have described.

I would initially check the carb for blockages and ensure that any vacuum advance fittings on the carb are blanked off if you have them.

The only other issue I once had with a centrifugal distributor was a spring had come of/broken in the dizzy which controlled the advance weights which could give a similar effect.

Hope this helps

Nigel

Nigelf
15-10-2008, 10:15 PM
Thanks, NN.