PDA

View Full Version : Flocking.

Mostin
18-05-2015, 03:41 PM
I've started this thread to help people looking at flocking parts of their car.

I'm a beginner myself so I don't claim to be an expert. Any input could help me as well as others.

In my car build pages you can see that I've flocked my dash in black. My main body tub is flocked in a light grey. As well as the roof.

The roof was done instead of trying to glue in a roof lining.

I was going to get it done by a pro & was quoted around 110 for the dash plus post etc. Which will give you some idea of costing out anything your thinking about getting a flock finish done for you.

The equipment I settled on was this one http://www.flocking.biz/flock_microflocker/MKII_Microflocker_Kit.jpg At the time the company had an offer on so I got it as a complete kit with 2 pack adhesive, thinners, pot of pigment & 1.0mm - 3.3 decitex flock. I added to this later with more adhesive & flock colours.

There are cheaper battery flocking kits on the market but these are more for model making detailing like grass on a model railway. I don't know if they're any good because I've not used one but from what I've read there aren't really the best things to use for anything other than model making & T-shirt printing.

As for the kits that have a plastic puffer pot to just blow the flock on are not even worth looking at.

I think there's also a kit from the USA that blows a pre filled pot with an airline connected.

Flocking is easy to do but be warned its a one shot application. If your not happy with the finish or you have thin areas when its dry you can't just go over it again. I did my dash twice because the first time I put the adhesive on with a paint brush & it looked a bit pants. To get it off I had to use 80 git sandpaper. Its tuff stuff so this takes a bit of time.