Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Brake ajustment

Brake ajustment

Hi all.

Its now time to start planning ahead for my brakes shopping list. I have a dual master cylinder with a good pair of front disks & drums on the rear.

My question is with the front being so much lighter than a beetle the front end is some what over braked with the disks so I'll need to try to balance this out with the rear brakes. If so is there any after market brake compensator i can put inline?

Cheers.
    Mostin.
    “A plan is only a means of measuring where things went wrong”

Re: Brake ajustment

Hi Mostin. I would recommend using a brake bias adjuster which gets plumbed in between the front and rear brake pipes. Due to the Nova's rear engine, when braking all that weight is thrown forwards so you will need to dial in more pressure to the rear brakes. I haven't actually tried mine yet but i know that it will work and that all Nova's should have one.

I got mine from Demon Tweeks. Have a look at their website. it's not very big and you may have to weld or bolt a plate onto your front beam to hold it in place. Mine has a large nut which turns easily to adjust pressure to the front or to the rear.

Have a look through my forum post for my re-build and you will find a photo or two of it. My Nova has disks all round but that wasn't always the case and I kept locking up at the front. In fact, the brakes were useless.

All the best,
    Giles.

greetings to all...re mostins brakes........
    from denis...blue nova ....southcoast....
    i have gone the whole way...with vented discs and six pot at front..also a boost assist....
    at the rear i have a balance adjuster..with lines to both single discs...now i expect this would be a lot too much for mostpeople...but my setup is a large type 4..bored to100.mm.
    i weighed the front at300ks..........but the rear is over 500.kgs.total ....
    i am not able to drive the total car but in the space outside my garage the chassis.will wheelie